SQE Grading System: Understanding the Evaluation Criteria

SQE Grading System: Understanding the Evaluation Criteria

For aspiring solicitors, the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) is a crucial milestone on the path to becoming qualified solicitors in England and Wales. The SQE replaces the previous system of qualification, ensuring a standardized assessment for all candidates. One aspect that candidates often have questions about is the SQE grading system and how their performance is evaluated. In this article, we will delve into the evaluation criteria of the SQE and provide insights into the process.

The SQE Grading System

The SQE grading system consists of two levels: SQE1 and SQE2. Each level has its own evaluation criteria that assess the candidate’s knowledge and skills in different areas of legal practice. Let’s take a closer look at each level:

1. SQE1 Evaluation Criteria

SQE1 is the first stage of the SQE, which is a written examination. It evaluates candidates on their foundation legal knowledge and understanding. The evaluation criteria for SQE1 include:

  • Legal Principles and Legal Concepts
  • Substantive Law
  • Procedures and Legal Skills
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Legal Practice

For detailed information about each evaluation criteria, candidates can refer to the SQE 1 Preparation Courses offered by Free Mocks SQE Training, which provide comprehensive coverage of the syllabus and practice materials. Additionally, candidates can benefit from practicing with SQE 1 Practice Exam Questions and SQE 1 Practice Mocks FLK1 FLK2 to enhance their knowledge and confidence.

2. SQE2 Evaluation Criteria

SQE2 is the second stage of the SQE and assesses candidates on their practical legal skills. The evaluation criteria for SQE2 include:

  • Client Interviewing and Attendance Note Writing
  • Advocacy and Oral Presentation
  • Legal Research and Written Advice
  • Legal Drafting
  • Legal Writing

Preparing for SQE2 requires a combination of theoretical knowledge and practical skills. Free Mocks SQE Training offers SQE 2 Preparation Courses that provide comprehensive training in all evaluation criteria, enabling candidates to develop the necessary skills to succeed in this stage of the examination.

Scoring and Grading

Now that we have explored the evaluation criteria, let’s delve into the scoring and grading system of the SQE. The SQE has a pass/fail grading system, with no numerical scores. Candidates must demonstrate competence in all evaluation criteria to pass the examination.

It’s important to note that the SQE is a criterion-referenced examination. This means that candidates are evaluated based on their ability to meet predefined criteria rather than being compared to other candidates. Therefore, candidates should focus on mastering the evaluation criteria and demonstrating their competence in each area.


The SQE grading system is designed to assess candidates’ knowledge and skills in a fair and standardized manner. Understanding the evaluation criteria of each level (SQE1 and SQE2) is essential for successful preparation. By enrolling in reliable and comprehensive preparation courses, such as those offered by Free Mocks SQE Training, candidates can enhance their chances of success. Additionally, practicing with SQE 1 Practice Exam Questions and SQE 1 Practice Mocks FLK1 FLK2 can greatly help in reinforcing knowledge and building confidence.

To stay updated on the latest SQE examination dates, candidates can refer to the SRA SQE Exam Dates article for accurate and timely information.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *